Book

If you need documents, contemporary witnesses and background information for a book or an exhibition project, I can provide you with all the necessary information and contacts needed to get you started. If you wish, I can provide additional support in the form of research, organization and translation.

YOU ARE INTERESTED IN US WORKING TOGETHER? CONTACT ME HERE


PROJECTS

Iron-Curtain_Anne ApplebaumIRON CURTAIN: THE CRUSHING OF EASTERN EUROPE, 1944-1956
Anne Applebaum, Washington Post columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner, worked six years on her book about the Stalinization of Central Europe after WW II. She focused her research on the individual development of people confronted with the radical changes of the political systems and the dilemma to choose between fleeing, fighting or joining the new regime.
As a researcher, translator and producer I worked both with Anne Applebaum and also independently on the part of the book dealing with the SBZ/GDR between 1945 and roughtly 1953. I researched in archives, interviewed eyewitnesses, excerpted primary and secondary literature and translated in interviews and archives.

Daring Young Men_Richard ReevesDARING YOUNG MEN
Richard Reevesauthor and syndicated columnist whose column has appeared in more than a hundred newspapers since 1979, came to the American Academy in 2007 to research a book on a history of the Berlin Airlift, scheduled for publication by Simon & Schuster in 2009.
Reeves: “I write narrative history, so I needed characters – and there were plenty beginning with Truman and Stalin. Men of history. They are easy to find. It is harder, but more rewarding, to collect the stories of the uncelebrated airmen, mechanics, weathermen, ground controllers and uncommon laborers who were among the 60,000 men and women who kept the airlift going for 322 days until the Soviets backed down in May of 1949.”
I helped Richard Reeves find “uncelebrated” German mechanics and time witnesses, guided him to relevant archives and provided background information where needed.

boyofberlin_150THE BOY FROM BERLIN
The Book The Boy from Berlin by RM Burt resulted from a Yorkshire Television documentary, in which I accompanied Thomas Walters to locations from his childhood in Berlin. With no memories from his early life except for a few photographs, Walters’ curiosity grew and he asked me to do further research for him in the south of Germany. On a second journey we visited the children’s home from which he was able to flee from Nazi Germany to England. We also went to the farm in Allgäu, where his mother – who was murdered in Auschwitz – had spent much time before he was born.

Jews Germany Memory_Edward Serotta

JEWS  GERMANY  MEMORY
As an assistant to Edward Serotta a Centropa in Berlin I worked on several projects, engaged in research, organization and translation. Of particular importance was the book and exhibition Jews Germany Memory.

The House at the Bridge_Katie Hafner

THE HOUSE AT THE BRIDGE
The Villa Schöningen, located at Glienicker Bridge between Berlin and Potsdam, served American journalist Katie Hafner as a backdrop to the political and social changes in Germany between 1843 and the 1990s. The garden architecture, the banker family Wallich, the children’s home, re-unification, the reassignment of property and much more – the villa and its inhabitants presented rich material as time witnesses. I was part of a team putting these facts into historical perspective.

BUCH

Für ein Buch- oder Ausstellungsprojekt benötigen Sie Zeitdokumente, Zeitzeugen und Hintergrundinformationen. Ich besorge Ihnen die notwendigen Informationen und vermittle den Kontakt zu Zeitzeugen. Wenn gewünscht, begleite ich ihr Projekt auch mit ausführlichen Recherchen, Organisation und Übersetzungen.


PROJEKTE

Iron-Curtain_Anne ApplebaumIRON CURTAIN: THE CRUSHING OF EASTERN EUROPE, 1944-1956
Deutscher Titel: Der Eiserne Vorhang, Die Unterdrückung Osteuropas, 1944 – 1956
Anne Applebaum, Kolumnistin Washington Post und Pulitzer Preis Gewinnerin, arbeitete über sechs Jahre an dem Buch über die Stalinisierung von Mitteleuropa nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Sie konzentrierte ihre Forschung auf die individuellen Entwicklungen der Menschen, die mit den radikalen Umbrüchen der politischen Systeme konfrontiert wurden und sich dem Dilemma gegenüber sahen, zu flüchten, zu kämpfen oder sich dem neuen Regime anzuschließen.
Als Rechercheurin, Übersetzerin und Organisatorin arbeitete ich mit Anne Applebaum und selbstständig an dem Teil des Buches mit, der sich mit der SBZ/DDR zwischen 1945 und ca. 1953 befasst. Ich recherchierte in Archiven, befragte Zeitzeugen, wertete Sekundärliteratur aus und übersetzte in Interviews und Archiven.

Daring Young Men_Richard ReevesDARING YOUNG MEN
Richard Reeves, Autor und Schreiber von Kolumnen, die seit 1979 in mehr als 160 Zeitungen erschienen, kam im Herbst 2007 an die American Academy in Berlin, um ein Buch über die Berliner Luftbrücke zu recherchieren.
Reeves: „I schreibe narrative Geschichte und deshalb brauche ich Charaktere. Es gibt derer viele – beginnend mit Truman und Stalin. Männer der Geschichte. Sie sind leicht auszumachen. Es ist schwieriger doch gleichzeitig Zeit lohnenswerter, die Geschichten all der nicht gefeierten Piloten, Mechaniker, Wetteransager und Arbeiter zu finden, die zu den 60,000 Männern und Frauen gehörten, die die Luftbrücke 322 Tage lang möglich machten. Bis die Soviets im Mai 1949 dann schliesslich nachgaben.“
Mit meiner Recherche half ich Richard Reeves, die „nicht gefeierten“ deutschen Mechaniker und Zeitzeugen zu finden, brachte ihn in Kontakt mit den wichtigen Archiven und beschaffte die notwendigen Hintergrundinformationen.

boyofberlin_150THE BOY FROM BERLIN
In dem Dokumentarfilm des Yorkshire Television begleitete ich Thomas Walters ein Wochenende lang zu den Stätten seiner Kindheit in Berlin. Neugierig geworden auf ein Leben, an das er außer einigen Fotos keine Erinnerungen mehr hatte, bat Thomas Walters mich, in Süddeutschland für ihn weiter zu recherchieren. Auf einer zweiten Reise besuchten wir unter anderem das Kinderheim, von dem aus er nach England fliehen konnte. Und wir fuhren zu dem Bauernhof seiner Familie im Allgäu, auf dem seine in Auschwitz ermordete Mutter Eva viel Zeit verbrachte.
&nbsp
&nbsp

Jews Germany Memory_Edward SerottaJEWS  GERMANY  MEMORY
Als Mitarbeiterin von Centropa in Berlin arbeitete ich mit Edward Serotta über mehrere Jahre an verschiedenen Projekten. Ein Schwerpunkt war die Dokumentation und Ausstellung Juden in Deutschland Heute Bei allen Projekten war ich in den Bereichen Recherche, Organisation und Übersetzung tätig.
Deutscher Titel:
Juden in Deutschland Heute

&nbsp
&nbsp

The House at the Bridge_Katie HafnerTHE HOUSE AT THE BRIDGE
Die Villa Schöningen an der Glienicker Brücke zwischen Berlin und Potsdam bot der amerikanischen Journalistin Katie Hafner die Bühne, um die politischen und sozialen Verhältnisse in Deutschland von 1843 bis in die neunziger Jahre zu beschreiben. Gartenarchitektur, die Bankiersfamilie Wallich, Kinderwochenheim, Wiedervereinigung, Rückübertragungsansprüche und vieles mehr – die Villa und ihre Bewohner präsentierten reiches Material, das unter anderem durch meine Recherche in den historischen Zeitrahmen einzufügen war.
Deutscher Titel Das Haus an der Brücke